On Wednesday, Aug. 14, 2019, Williamsport welcomes the world with their annual Grand Slam parade.

Festivities in town--including a street fair with food, entertainment, and vendors--begin at 4 p.m. and the parade kicks off at 5:30 p.m. Each of the sixteen teams ride aboard flatbed trailers, waving to the crowd and tossing candy to fans along the street.

LLWS Parade Pic_2019.jpg

Teams ride through the heart of Williamsport on flatbed trucks during the Grand Slam parade. Source: Little League Baseball

The parade begins at the intersections of Susquehanna Street and West Fourth Street and crawls along Fourth Street past City Hall, ending at Market Street.

Officials report over 100 participants involved in the parade, from school marching bands to antique cars, fire trucks, military equipment, local organizations and businesses, dance troupes, and more.

Related reading: The Katie Benson School of Dance leaps toward the Grand Slam parade

Sixteen teams will battle it out for the World Series Championship. The teams include:

U.S. Qualifiers

Great lakes Region: Bowling Green East LL, Bowling Green, Ky. 

Mid Atlantic Region: Elmora Youth LL, Elizabeth, N.J. 

Midwest Region: Coon Rapids/Andover American LL, Coon Rapids, Minn. 

New England Region: Barrington LL, Barrington, R.I.

Northwest Region: Sprague LL, Salem, Ore.

Southeast Region: Loudoun South LL, South Riding, Va. 

Southwest Region: Eastbank LL, River Ridge, La. 

West Region: Central East Maui LL, Wailuku, Hawaii

International Qualifiers

Asia-Pacific Region: Chung Nam (B) LL, South Chungcheong, South Korea 

Australia Region: Cronulla LL, Australia

Canada Region: Coquitlam LL, Coquitlam, British Columbia 

Caribbean Region: Pabao LL, Willemstad Curacao 

Europe - Africa Region: Emilia Romagna LL, Bologna, Italy 

Japan Region: Chofu LL, Chofu City 

Latin America Region: Cacique Mara LL, Maracaibo, Venezuela

Mexico Region: Epitacio “Mala” Torres LL, Guadalupe, Nuevo León

Thursday, Aug. 15 begins the first day of play for the 16-team tournament. Four games are scheduled on Thursday, beginning with Game 1, 1 p.m. between Caribbean Region and Australia Region; Game 2, 3 p.m. between New England Region and Southeast Region; Game 3, 5 p.m. between Asia-Pacific Region and Latin American Region; and Game 4, 7 p.m. between Midwest Region and Great Lakes Region.

For the full tournament schedule, visit littleleague.org.