Almost 42 percent of registered voters in Lycoming County turned out to vote in yesterday's Primary election where a number of races were in the spotlight.

Mayoral Candidates

When Gabe Campana decided to run for County Commissioner after three terms as Mayor, he opened the door for new candidates. After yesterday's Primary, Eric Beiter will be on the November ballot as the Republican nomination, beating Don Noviello with 62 percent of the votes. Beiter will face Democratic candidate Derek Slaughter, who ran unopposed, in November. Slaughter is a Williamsport City Council member.

12th District Congressional Seat

Republican Fred Keller won the congressional seat vacated by Tom Marino, defeating Democrat Marc Friedenberg. Keller's term will expire in January 2021. Keller received a last-minute boost of support from President Trump who stopped on Monday to support Keller's campaign. 

The 12th District covers all or most of 15 counties stretching east from Susquehanna County to Potter County in the west. North to south it covers the New York State line to Perry County in the south.

County Commissioners

Of the nine County Commissioner candidates, Scott Metzger (23 percent) and Tony Mussare (21 percent) were elected. Jack McKernan and Gabe Campana missed securing a seat with 18 and 11 percent of the votes respectively. Also following were John Bower, Kathryn (Tabby) Nassberg, Chad Riley, Todd Lauer, and Stephan Brady.

District Attorney

Ryan Gardner bested Nicole Ippolito with 54 percent of the votes. In February of this year, Gardner touted being "a lifelong resident of Lycoming County" as one of his strengths, saying, "I know firsthand what the residents of Lycoming County care about. The safety of our community and families is paramount."


Ryan Tira secured the Republican and Democratic nominations for Common Pleas Judge in Lycoming County, passing William Carlucci on both tickets. 

Read the official election results for Lycoming County.