distinguished alumni award.jpg

Clinton M. Cullison, a 2004 business administration: marketing concentration graduate, received the Distinguished Alumni Award from Pennsylvania College of Technology President Davie Jane Gilmour. Source: Penn College News

The Pennsylvania College of Technology's fall commencement ceremony took place on December 21 at the Community Arts Center, and with it, several awards were presented to students and one outstanding business alumnus.

Clinton M. Cullison, a 2004 magna cum laude graduate with a Bachelor of Science degree in business administration (marketing concentration) was awarded the Distinguished Alumni Award. Cullison is currently a senior associate with Greenlee Partners, a Harrisburg-based lobbying and government affairs firm.

Since starting his work with Greenlee, Cullison has advocated for changes to the Pennsylvania Tax Code, the Gaming Act, the Fiscal Code, the Crimes Code, the Enforcement Officer Disability Benefits Law, the Workers' Compensation Act, the Liquor Code, Judiciary and Judicial Procedure, the Municipalities Financial Recovery Act, the Redevelopment Capital Assistance Program, the Capital Budget Act, the General Appropriations Act, the Agriculture Code, the Vehicle Code, and others.

Cullison’s community involvement includes serving as secretary of the Board of Directors for Visit Hershey & Harrisburg, a nonprofit destination-marketing organization for Dauphin County; as a founding trustee for The Hill Society, a Harrisburg-based social organization providing a place for business and government to meet; as a committeeman for the Dauphin County Republican Committee; and as immediate past president and a member of the State YMCA of Pennsylvania’s Board of Directors.

Previously, he served as a board member for the Harrisburg Young Professionals. He is also a member of the Robert Burns Lodge No. 464 Free and Accepted Masons.

At Penn College, Cullison was the recipient of the Vice President and Provost’s Award and was a member of the Sigma Beta Delta and Alpha Chi honor societies, as well as the Phi Beta Lambda National Business Fraternity. He was also a member of the Wildcat volleyball team.

Other awards distributed during the ceremony and their recipients are:

President’s Award, presented for leadership and service to the college: Nathan A. Rader-Edkin, Williamsport, plastics and polymer engineering technology.

Board of Directors’ Award, presented for achievement under exceptional conditions: Daria Datsenko, Lewisburg, nursing.

Academic Vice President and Provost’s Award, presented for scholastic achievement and service: Nathaniel A. Haefka, Wyalusing, applied management; and Abigail M. Meredick, Danville, industrial design.

Lewis H. Bardo Memorial Award, presented to a graduate who exemplifies the ideals of Lewis H. Bardo (devotion to duty, helpfulness to others, friendliness and high ideals): Thomas C. Berkey, Danville, software development & information management.

Chef Leah Chase Excellence in Hospitality Award, presented to a graduate who demonstrates Chef Chase's commitment to being a positive role model for the hospitality industry, work and scholastic excellence, stewardship of personal and professional resources, respect for self and others, and excellence and leadership in hospitality education: Nicole L. Sherman, Williamsport, hospitality management.

Health Sciences Humanitarian Award, presented to a health science graduate who exhibits qualities of honesty, integrity, courage and responsibility, and a demonstrated commitment to the welfare of others: Kaitlyn Lucille Andersen, Mastic, N.Y., nursing.

Linda F. Clark, BS RN, Memorial Nursing Commencement Award, presented to a graduate who has demonstrated outstanding academic achievement, exceptional ability in practicum and commitment to lifelong learning: Daria Datsenko, Lewisburg, nursing.

Shirley Novosel Memorial Award, presented to a nursing graduate who has demonstrated excellence in clinical performance, clinical leadership, promotion of client advocacy, proficiency in clinical skills, a desire to learn and help others learn, a positive professional attitude, and a caring, compassionate, empathetic attitude toward clients: Emily Louise Tashner-Thompson, Muncy, nursing.

UPMC Susquehanna Program Award for Applied Health Studies, presented to a graduate of the applied health studies program who has exhibited strong leadership and teamwork skills; has demonstrated excellence, professionalism and commitment to the health care profession; and has demonstrated academic excellence: Savana Culver Barnes, Boston, Ky., applied health studies.

Penn College Machine Shop Faculty Award, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year automated manufacturing, machining or toolmaking major who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence and exhibits devotion to duty, helpfulness to others and friendliness: Travis David Keiser, Thomasville, automated manufacturing technology.

Penn College Welding Faculty Award, presented to graduates of a two- or four-year welding major who exemplify the college's philosophy of excellence: Erin M. Beaver, Winfield, welding and fabrication engineering technology; and Josiah David McKeon, Williamsport, welding and fabrication engineering technology.

Robert G. Thomas Award, presented to graduates who have attained the highest cumulative average in welding: Maria Cantin, Livonia, Mich., welding and fabrication engineering technology; and James T. Contreras, Overland Park, Kan., welding and fabrication engineering technology.

Engineering Design Technology Faculty Award, presented to a graduate who has demonstrated scholastic achievement, interest in the field and potential for success in the future: Matthew J. Nyman, Lock Haven, engineering design technology and engineering CAD technology.

Information Technology Faculty Award, presented for scholastic achievement, work ethic, character, contribution to the department and contribution to fellow students: Allison Faith Chapman, Montoursville, information assurance and cyber security; Weston L. Laity, Blandon, information technology sciences - gaming and simulation, and software development & information management; and Ekaterina Molostvova, Saint Clair, software development & information management.

Allan Myers Award, presented to the top-performing graduate of heavy construction equipment technology: operator emphasis: Jonathan Gregorio Vasconcelos, Windham, N.H., heavy construction equipment technology: operator emphasis and heavy construction equipment technology: technician emphasis.

Forest Technology Faculty Award, presented to the graduate who best exemplifies academic achievement, service and professionalism within the field of forestry: Will F. Shields, State College, forest technology.

Pathfinders to Excellence Award, presented to a graduate of the heavy construction or diesel programs who demonstrates the qualities of an exemplary individual and the potential to become a model technician: Celeste G. Moquin, Port Matilda, on-site power generation.

Grant Berry Sr. Automotive Excellence Award, presented to the graduate with the highest cumulative GPA in an automotive major: Austin T. Nichol, Oxford, automotive technology.