FACT's Fund-a-Farmer Project - Call for Applications!

January 10, 2014

Food Animal Concerns Trust (FACT) is now accepting grant applications from livestock farmers for its Fund-a-Farmer Project!   The Fund-a-Farmer Project provides grants to qualifying humane farmers who need assistance in improving the welfare of their farm animals. Grants of up to $2,500 will be awarded for projects that (1) help farms transition to pasture-based systems, (2) improve the marketing of their humane products, or (3) more generally enrich the conditions in which farm animals are raised. Working, independent family farmers that raise pigs, broiler chickens, laying hens, dairy cows and/or beef cattle are eligible to apply for any of the three types of grants.  Projects involving goats and sheep are only eligible for marketing grants.  Applications must be submitted online or postmarked by May 1, 2014 for awards made in August 2014. View guidelines and apply online at www.fundafarmer.org. Contact Lisa at grants@foodanimalconcerns.org or 773-525-4952 with questions.

FACT will offer two online information sessions on the Fund-a-Farmer grant application process in February. Interested farmers can join us on February 11 @ 1pm CST/ 2pm EST or February 12 @ 6pm CST/ 7pm EST. Farmers can register online for either of these free sessions.

Towns: