Williamsport’s 13th Annual Victorian Christmas 'A Peek Into Wardrobes Past'
Join us as we celebrate the annual Victorian Christmas, Williamsport Victorian's Secret "A Peek Into Wardrobe's Past" this year, slated for Nov. 18, 19 and 20.
The Friday, Nov. 18 Victorian Christmas Event includes: 10 a.m. to 8 p.m. DuBoistown Garden Club's 48th Annual Holiday House, Christmas Time Around the World, Pennington Lounge, Lycoming College, Mulberry Street, Williamsport. Admission: $5 donation.
At 6 p.m., the annual Holiday Parade in downtown Williamsport.
Tours are planned of Victorian and Historic Mansions and Churches along West Fourth Street, in Downtown, and in the Vallamont and Greater Williamsport Area.
The Thomas Taber Museum and the Peter Herdic Transportation Museum will be open for enjoyment.
The mansions will feature area florists or displays and will be hosted by guides in period dress. Musical entertainment is provided throughout the afternoon at tour sites courtesy of a Pennsylvania Partners on the Arts grant.
Tours of museums, homes and churches only is scheduled to begin at 10 a.m. and end at 5 p.m. on Saturday, Nov. 19. The public can tour the Thomas Taber Museum, and designated homes and churches in the Millionaire’s Row, Vallamont and Williamsport area.
Tickets are $15 per person and can be purchased at the following locations: The Community Arts Center, 220 West Fourth Street or The Lycoming County Visitors Bureau, 210 William Street.
707 West Fourth Street
The Rowley House Museum
Theme: Mourning/Grieving Wear
From an originality standpoint and condition, this circa 1888 home is one of the most significant Queen Anne Victorian Houses in Pennsylvania. During the tour, Mr. Kane will present a slide presentation in the Nassberg Media Room on architecturally-significant homes in the Williamsport area.
Owner: Preservation Williamsport • Chair: Robert Kane, Rowley House Curator Florist: Strawberry Basket, eliz Snyder • Sponsor: Penn Square Apts.
1414 Wynwood Lane
Theme: Wedding Attire
Built in 1997, this spectacular house reflects the Italian Villa style with a sprawling country club like setting. The dining room boasts a hand painted mural, depicting Christ with five children, by artist Marguerite Bierman. African mahogany floors, cherry and mahogany carved fireplaces and a circular floating staircase are a few of the many unique characteristics. Additionally this home will feature some of the finest artisans showcasing their work which will be available for purchase.
Owner: Matthew and Yvonne DiRocco • Chair: Amy Dowling and Yvonne DiRocco
Florist: Strawberry Basket, eliz Snyder • Sponsor- Airmen HVAC Service LLC
1401 Campbell Street
Theme: Beach and Recreation Wear
This is a classic 1920’s Art Deco house. It is defined by period-appropriate brass entry doors, stucco exterior walls and an exposed brick foundation. The overall boxy style accented with curved corners, curved balcony, and tall narrow windows all add to the Deco period feel of this home.
Owner: Tony DiSalvo III • Chair: The DiSalvo family and Pat Camille
Florist: Mystic Gardens Floral Studio • Sponsor: Albarano Construction
711 West Fourth Street
The Elias Deemer House
Theme: Travel Wear
This home and accompanying carriage house, built in 1887 by architect Eber Culver, is an outstanding example of Queen Anne craftsmanship, especially the cherry wainscoting in the foyer and front hall as well as three floors of cherry stairway railings. The house has undergone considerable restoration, most recently the exterior and dining room. Featured in the carriage house is a 1929 Packard limousine.
Owner: Daniel H. Llewellyn and Dr. Susan G. S. Anderson • Chair: Ruthanne Crotty
Florist: Janet’s Floral Creations • Sponsor: Impact Advertising
821 Hawthorne Ave
Theme: Evening Attire
This charming 1937 home was designed as a Pennsylvania farmhouse by renowned architect, R. Brognard Okie. The façade is primarily undressed field stone and mortar in the English tradition. Throughout the home, one sees magnificent cherry wood trim and planked pine flooring. The multiple dormers, blind window shutters and shingle style roof help to capture the English country feel of this home.
Owner: Dina Wilson • Chair: Dina Wilson, Sue Tucker • Florist: Nevill’s Flowers • Sponsor: 3D Glass
525 West Fourth Street
The DuBois House
Theme: Unmentionables and Accessories
A distinctive Italianate style Victorian home, defined by stucco walls with coinstone corners, large protruding eaves, heavy cornices decorated with double corbels, and wonderful curved arches above each window. The windows themselves retain the original curved mullions separating each window into decorative panes. This house was built between 1865 and 1875, which was the peak of Italianate Villa architecture.
Owner: Elizabeth Miele • Chair: Elizabeth Miele • Florist: Special Occasion
Florals- Karen Ruhl, Michelle Ronneberg • Sponsor: City of Williamsport
1200 Campbell Street
The Harris Home
Theme: Day Wear
This beautiful New England Colonial frame house built in 1924 by architect Carl Tallman, features a traditional center hall plan with gum paneling in the living room and exquisite paneling in the dining room. Stained glass windows adorn the center staircase with views of the newly landscaped patio and gardens.
Owner: Gordon Harris and Dr. Nathalie Lavallee-Harris • Chair: Nicole Nardi
Florist: Nevill’s Flowers • Sponsor: Franie and Doug Dougherty
309 Grampian Blvd
The Huffman/Walter House
Theme: Children’s Fashions and Toys
This is a remarkable “turn of the century” house with stunning architectural details: wraparound porch, elegant columns, leaded glass windows, coffered ceilings, pocket doors and prom staircase. A Grampian treasure, with a third floor bedroom that is a child’s dream.
Owners: Scott and Erica Walter • Chair: The Junior League of Williamsport Inc. - Laurie Ade
Florist: Special Occasions Florals- Karen Ruhl, Michelle Ronneberg • Sponsor: Eagle Rock Winery
858 West Fourth Street
Thomas Taber Museum
Lycoming County Historical Society
Visitors to the Lycoming County Historical Society will be enchanted with a display of late 19th - early 20th century dolls, miniature furniture and selected toys. The exhibit will feature the doll collection of Margaret Myers Lamade (Mrs. Dietrick Wilson), donated to the museum in 1993. Guests may also stroll through the fine arts gallery, which features works by Severin Roesen, J. Wesley Little, and John Sloan. They will be swept back in time by viewing the recreated frontier room, the Greek Revival Parlor, and the Ralston General Store. Also, visitors may explore the dynamic history of the region’s American Indian culture, the military heritage of the county and the logging and lumbering industry of the 19th century. And what a visit to the LCHS would be complete without viewing the LaRue Shempp Toy Train Collection.
380 West Fourth Street
First Baptist Church
This landmark church was originally designed and built by Eber Culver in 1854. It has been served by 21 pastors and six interim pastors in three different buildings all on the same corner of ground donated by Peter Herdic. Peter's wife was a member of the congregation. After being destroyed by floods, the original building was torn down in 1889. The main sanctuary was completed in 1914. The church is an example of the Romanesque style of architecture, with mountain stone quarried from this area. The present church is known for its beautiful sanctuary with the eight stained glass windows depicting Baptist patriarchs. The jewel of all the windows faces West Fourth Street and depicts the baptism of Jesus. Designed in London and built in New York City by Young and Bonawitz in 1914, the windows were taken apart to be transported to Williamsport.
700 West Fourth Street
Built in 1886 by Amos Wagner on land donated by Peter Herdic, the church was built to service the Irish Catholic community. It is an example of the Romanesque style of architecture, and the sandstone came from the nearby Ralston Quarry. The church has a multi-gabled slate roof and walls with colored belt courses. There are 43 arched stained glass windows. The entryway and entry doors are semi-circular. The bell tower is open with a decorative cornice and patterned stone. The center tower was capped when three workers fell to their deaths during construction. The interior has marble altars and Tiffany windows, including "The Accession of Christ" behind the main altar installed in the early 1900s. Note the use of marble and gold. The church seats 1,000 people.
844 West Fourth Street
Trinity Episcopal Church
Built in 1875 by Culver and Thorn, the church was paid for by Peter Herdic, who donated not only the land but also the entire building to Trinity Parish for one dollar as long as the pews remain "forever free." His father-in-law, Judge Maynard, presented the church with the first set of nine-bell Westminster chimes in America, the same as heard in the Big Ben Tower of London. An example of English Gothic architecture, the church is built with stone quarried from Bald Eagle Mountain at Muncy and brownstone from Hummelstown. Note the pointed arches and windows, steeply pitched colored slate roof, and 265-foot spire. In an 1876 issue of the Parish Dial, the following passage appears concerning the church's windows: "Words cannot paint the loveliness of these windows. The makers, Aickin and Isaac, Philadelphia, have conscientiously adhered to the true idea of glass staining, which does not consist in painting the various colors upon large sheets of glass, but in leading together separate pieces so as to present a transparent mosaic. The side windows show exquisite geometrical designs.
For a complete list of events, visit http://www.preservationwilliamsport.org/VictorianChristmas_2011.pdf