Chamber Holds 12th Annual Education Celebration

The Williamsport/Lycoming Chamber of Commerce’s 12th Annual Education Celebration will be held on Thursday, March 7, 2013 at the Holiday Inn Downtown from 5:30 until 8:30 pm.

This event was started to greater emphasize the relationship between the business and education communities. The area’s future workforce development needs will be better served if this relationship is strong.

Several awards will be presented that evening which include the Business Partner in Education Award, Outstanding Senior Award, Outstanding Professional Educator Award, and Alumni of the Year Award.

The Business Partner in Education Award, sponsored by Susquehanna Health, is given to a business that demonstrates how area businesses can partner with schools and students who will one day become our future business leaders. The recipient of this year’s award is Anthony H Visco, Jr., Architect.

The Outstanding Senior Award is given to a senior from one of the nine Lycoming County school districts.

M & T Bank is sponsoring this award. This year’s recipients are: Kyle Bomboy, East Lycoming School District; Tyler Sanford, Jersey Shore Area School District; Dylan Rockoff, Loyalsock Township School District; Dominic Galanti, Montgomery Area School District; Nicole Payne, Montoursville Area School District; Victoria Smith, Muncy School District; Sarah Fils-Aime, South Williamsport Area School District; Joseph Pierce, St. John Neumann Regional Academy; and Daniel Ma, Williamsport Area School District.

The Outstanding Professional Educator Award is given to an individual who makes extraordinary contributions to the education profession. Sponsoring this award is CRS Advanced Technology.

This year’s recipients are: Shari Michael, East Lycoming School District; Jennifer Patterson, Jersey Shore Area School District; Robert Barrett, Loyalsock Township School District; Shelly Heinrich, Montgomery Area School District; Kathleen Becker, Montoursville Area School District; Donna Bennett, Muncy School District; Sharon Kuriga, South Williamsport Area School District; Roger Keller, St. John Neumann Regional Academy; and Lynne Piotrowski, Williamsport Area School District.

The Alumni of the Year Award is presented to one graduate from each of Williamsport’s higher educational institutions. This award, sponsored by Lycoming College, and Pennsylvania College of Technology, is to recognize individuals who attended college in Williamsport and have stayed in the area to become successful and active residents here in Lycoming County. This year’s recipients are: Marilouise Mazzante, Lycoming College; and Richard Grafmyre, Pennsylvania College of Technology.

Vince Matteo, President/CEO, Williamsport/Lycoming Chamber of Commerce, will serve as the Master of Ceremony.


Archive Category: 

Related Articles

Submit your info: Do you have news, an opinion or an event that you would like to share?  Send it to us and we'll review it for inclusion in our site!  You can reach our office at (570) 326-7529 during office hours - or leave us a message. Email Us Your NEWS at

Our FAX number is: (570) 955-3457.


Comment Here